Clinical Excellence Awards for Paediatrics

Clinical Excellence Awards (CEAs) are a fixed term award given to recognise and reward the exceptional contribution of NHS consultants, over and above that normally expected in a post, to the values and goals of the NHS and to patient care.

National CEA systems in the UK

England - Applications at the national level are assessed by the Advisory Committee on Clinical Excellence Awards (ACCEA), administered by staff of the Department of Health (England)

Wales - The Welsh Government has arranged that national applications for CEAs are also assessed by the ACCEA

Northern Ireland - National level applications are assessed by the Department of Health, Social Services and Public Safety (DHSSPS) of Northern Ireland though the Northern Ireland process is currently suspended. See below for more details

Scotland - No current national CEA process for new applicants

Individual application process

Applications are made by individual consultants either to their employer locally, for local awards at levels L1-L9, or at the National level for CEAs at either the Bronze (L9 equivalent), Silver (L10), Gold (L11) or Platinum (L12) levels.

Consultants can choose to seek support from their Medical Royal College for their application for a national level award in England or Wales. For Bronze, Silver or Gold Awards this would be a citation to the ACCEA. For Platinum level this is in the form of a nomination to the Academy of Medical Royal Colleges which produces all citations for Platinum Awards.

In Northern Ireland, a request to the DHSSPS to seek a citation from the applicant's Medical Royal College must be indicated on the application to the DHSSPS. Citations would only be sought by the DHSSPS for applicants at Gold (L11) and Platinum (L12) level.

England and Wales - 2016 round (now closed)

The 2016 CEA round for England and Wales was open from 11 March to 5pm, 16 May 2016. 

The College was again able to submit a very limited number of College citations to the ACCEA for new awards (Gold, Silver and Bronze) in 2016 in England and Wales.

In total 2 Gold, 8 Silver and 22 Bronze citations in support of applications were permitted to the College by the ACCEA.

The College process for new applicants - as well as provision of all citations to renewal applicants - has now been completed. All those who have received a supporting citation have been informed of this by email to the address given to the College for this process.

Northern Ireland

There is currently no indication of when a CEA round will next be launched in Northern Ireland. The College continues to seek updates regularly. 

More information on the NICEAS and on any national Round for Northern Ireland will be found on the DHSSPS website.