RCPCH Committees and Council

A list of the College's standing committees and chairs, plus members and minutes of the College's governing body, Council.

On this page:

Standing committees and Chairs


  • Scottish Committee - Peter Fowlie 
  • Wales Executive Committee - Mair Parry
  • Ireland Committee - Emma Curtis

More about national offices

Education and training

  • Academic Training Committee - Howard Clark
  • Annual Conference Committee - Andrew Long
  • Education and Training Quality Committee - Raj Verma
  • Revalidation and Continuing Professional Development Committee - Andrew Long
  • Trainees’ Committee - David James

More about Education and Training committees

More about sub-specialty training, including contacts for the the College Specialty Advisory Committees


  • Examinations Executive Committee - Kevin Windebank
  • MRCPCH Clinical Examinations Board - Vasanta Nanduri
  • DCH (Diploma of Child Health) Examinations Board - Anna Mathew

More about examinations

Improving Child Health - Research and Policy

  • British Paediatric Surveillance Unit Scientific Committee - Richard Reading
  • Child Protection Committee - Geoff Debelle
  • Clinical Standards Committee - Fiona Campbell
  • Nutrition Committee - Colin Michie
  • Paediatricians in Medical Management - Lisa Kauffmann
  • Parents' and Carers' Group - Zoe Picton-Howell

More about improving child health

Governance and Corporate Services

  • Advocacy Committee - Delan Devakumar
  • Ethics and the Law Advisory Committee - Joe Brierley
  • Finance and Risk Committee - Lisa Kauffmann


  • International Board - Stephen Allen

More about international work

Claims for reimbursement of expenses

Committee members - please use this form to claim necessary expenses

Claim for reimbursement (PDF, 34 KB)

Council membership

Council comprises the elected regional representatives and officers and a limited number of other elected representatives (for example, Academic, Trainees and Senior Members), who together serve as the Trustees of the College (in addition to a number of observers).

Council is the governing body of the College. However as it meets only three times a year, it devolves responsibility to other committees (such as Executive Committee and Finance and Corporate Services Committee), in order that decisions maybe made between Council meetings. Council determines matters of major policy while other decisions are brought to Council for ratification.

See governance documents

Year of 
Senior Officers    

Neena Modi

Registrar Ian Maconochie 2012
Vice President, Training & Assessment Raj Verma 2015
Vice President, Science & Research Anne Greenough 2014
Vice President, Education Andrew Long 2013
Vice President, Health Policy Carol Ewing 2014
Honorary Treasurer Lisa Kauffmann 2014
Scotland Peter Fowlie 2011
Wales Mair Parry 2013
Ireland Emma Curtis 2014
International Stephen Allen 2011
Assessment David Long 2010
Training Amanda Goldstein 2011
Examinations Kevin Windebank 2010
Continuing Professional Development & Revalidation Carol Roberts 2013
Workforce Planning Simon Clark 2014
Child Protection Geoff Debelle 2014
Health Promotion Mitch Blair 2010
Clinical Standards Fiona Campbell 2013
Regionally Elected Members    
Eastern Gusztav Belteki 2014
Mersey John Gibbs 2012
Northern Nnenna Cookey 2014
North East Thames Abdul Moodambail 2013
North West Thames Richard Nicholl 2014 
North Western Peter Arkwright 2013
Oxford Kevin Ives 2011
South East Thames Keith Brent 2012
South West Thames Stuart Nicholls 2010
South Western James Fraser 2012
Trent Rajeev Gupta 2011
Wessex Michael Linney 2014
West Midlands Gyanranjan Sinha 2015
Yorkshire Robert Smith 2013
Wales Christopher Bidder 2014
North, North East, East Scotland Alan Webb 2012
South East Scotland W Hamish Wallace 2015
Western Scotland Ishaq Abu-Arafeh 2010
Northern Ireland Calum Macleod 2011
Republic of Ireland Hilary Hoey 2011
Trainees Representative Daniel Lumsden 2011
Trainees Representative Vacant  
Associate Members Representative Vacant  
Academic Representative Nicholas Bishop 2015
SAS (Staff, Associate Specialists and Specialty Doctors) Representative Malla Narasimhamurti 2013
Senior Members Representative Andrew Wilkinson 2012
Specialty Groups Representative Nicholas Croft 2012
Specialty Groups Representative Ian Balfour-Lynn 2012
Royal College of Psychiatrists Eilis Kennedy  
British Association of Paediatric Surgery Ian Sugarman  
Royal College of Nursing Fiona Smith  
By invitation    
Chair, RCPCH Parents' and Carers' Group Zoe Picton-Howell  
National Clinical Lead for Children & Young People in Scotland Katherine McKay  

National Clinical Director for Children, Young People and Transition to Adulthood

Jacqueline Cornish  

Council minutes

Minutes - 4 March 2015 (PDF, 420KB)

Minutes - 5 November 2014 (PDF, 488KB)

Minutes - 2 July 2014 (PDF, 463KB)

Minutes - 5 March 2014 (PDF, 352KB)

Minutes - 13 November 2013 (PDF, 348KB)

Minutes - 3 July 2013(PDF, 467KB) 

Minutes - 6 March 2013 (PDF, 542KB)