Theory exam dates and times

These are the dates of the theory examinations, and when the application period opens and closes. Also, the start and end times of the exams. All candidates must register for exams before they can apply for an exam.

Exam dates in 2017 - all countries

The College has three sittings of each exam a year. Each sitting takes place on the same date regardless of the location that you sit your exam. 

You must apply online for an examination during the relevant application period. Applications will be accepted from 9:00 am GMT (local time in the UK) on the application open date until 4:30 pm GMT (local time in the UK) on the application closing date.

Foundation of Practice (FOP)

Exam date Application opens Application closes
Tue 7 February 2017 Mon 21 November 2016 Wed 7 December 2016
Tue 13 June 2017  Mon 20 March 2017 Wed 5 April 2017
Tue 3 October 2017 Mon 24 July 2017 Wed 9 August 2017

Theory and Science (TAS)

Exam date Application opens Application closes
Tues 7 February 2017 Mon 21 November 2016 Wed 7 December 2016
Tue 13 June 2017 Mon 20 March 2017 Wed 5 April 2017
Tue 3 October 2017 Mon 24 July 2017 Wed 9 August 2017

Applied Knowledge in Practice (AKP)

Exam date Application opens Application closes
Tue 10 January 2017 Wed 26 October 2016 Extended to Wed 16 November 2016
Tue 9 May 2017 Mon 20 February 2017 Wed 8 March 2017
Thurs 14 September 2017 Mon 26 June 2017 Wed 12 July 2017

 

Exam start and end times - UK and Republic of Ireland

FOP takes place in the morning. TAS takes place in the afternoon. They may be sat on the same day.

AKP consists of two papers on the same day.

  Start time End time End time
if additional requirements

FOP

9:30 am 12:00 pm 12:38 pm

TAS

2:00 pm 4:30 pm 5:08 pm

AKP Paper 1

9:30 am 12:00 pm 12:38 pm

AKP Paper 2

2:00 pm 4:30 pm 5:08 pm

 

Exam start and end times - overseas

The start and end times vary from country to country. Please refer to your admission document for guidance on when to arrive at your designated centre and what time your exam will start and end.

The times relate to British Summer Time (BST), and may be subject to change during Daylight Saving time periods.

Please note that not all test centres are available for each exam sitting (diet) - see Test centres for more information.