General Paediatrics training

Paediatrics is a competency-based specialty, and training is designed to enable paediatricians to deliver excellent standards of care within an evolving health service and to produce professionals who are sensitive to the needs of children and their families. All education, training and assessment processes meet the RCPCH and General Medical Council curricula.

On this page:

About general paediatrics

General paediatrics is the care of children in hospital. Sick children can have simple or complex diseases, and the paediatrician needs to know how to manage these independently or by working with other colleagues. General paediatricians comprise the largest group of paediatricians.

Work includes: 

  • seeing children in outpatients departments
  • emergency work on the wards or tending to sick babies in special care baby units
  • teaching and training
  • administration (such as writing letters and reports)
  • talking to families
  • working closely with other health professionals.

Some general paediatricians have a special interest in a certain area of paediatrics, and/or lead on certain areas of training and education.

Within the competency-based programme, it is expected trainees will take eight years to gain a Certificate of Completion of Training.

College Specialty Advisory Committee (CSAC) - membership

Core membership

Role

Name Email address
Chair Dr Mark Anderson mark.anderson7@nuth.nhs.uk
Chair (BAGP) Dr Peter Heinz peter.heinz@addenbrookes.nhs.uk
Assessment Advisor Dr Priya Kumar priya.kumar3@nhs.net
Academic Training Advisor Dr Colin Powell colin.powell@cardiffandvale.wales.nhs.uk
Quality Advisor  Dr Russell Peek Russell.Peek@glos.nhs.uk 
Training Advisor Dr Swaminathan Kannan swaminathan.kannan@cmft.nhs.uk
Training Advisor  Dr Caroline Scott-Lang caroline.scott-lang@imperial.nhs.uk 

Trainee Representative
(ST 1-5)

Dr Sairah Akbar sairahakbar@nhs.net

Trainee Representative
(ST 6-8)

 

   

Council of Reference members

Subspecialty

 Name

 Email Address

Respiratory & Rheumatology Dr Robert Scot-Jupp robert.scott-jupp@salisbury.nhs.uk
Cardiology Dr Roy Sievers roy.sievers@porthosp.nhs.uk
Gastroenterology Dr Subramanian Mahadevan Bava subramanian.mahadevan@dgh.nhs.uk
Endocrinology Dr James Bursell james.bursell@mkhospital.nhs.uk
Nephrology Dr Judith Vandervoort judith.VanDerVoort@wales.nhs.uk
Adolescents Dr Lee Hudson leehudson@fastmail.co.uk
Infectious diseases Dr Srinivas Bandi srini.bandi@uhl-tr.nhs.uk
Emergency Medicine Dr Ian Lewins ian.lewins2@nhs.net
Oncology Dr Atefa Hossain atefa.hossain@stgeorges.nhs.uk
Neurology  Dr Nadira Maharaj nmaharaj@nhs.net
Neonatology Dr Prakash Thiagarajan Prakash.Thiagarajan@nobles.dhss.gov.im
Mental Health Dr Emma Blake emma.blake@iow.nhs.uk

General Paediatric Regional Training Advisers

Region

Name Email address
Wales Dr Yvette Cloette yvette.cloete@wales.nhs.uk
North Western Dr Sameer Misra sameer.misra@boltonft.nhs.uk
Wessex Dr Robert Scot-Jupp robert.scott-jupp@salisbury.nhs.uk
London Dr Atefa Hossain atefa.hossain@stgeorges.nhs.uk
Yorkshire & Humber Dr Natasha Devere natasha.devere@midyorks.nhs.uk
SW Peninsula Dr Jonathan Walsh jonathanwalsh@nhs.net
Mersey Vacant Vacant
Eastern Vacant Vacant
Northern Vacant Vacant
Severn Vacant Vacant
Oxford Vacant Vacant
Kent, Surrey & Sussex Vacant Vacant
West Midlands Vacant Vacant
East Midlands Vacant Vacant
Northern Ireland Dr Andrew Thompson andrew.thompson@belfasttrust.hscni.net
Scotland Vacant Vacant

Curriculum

The 2010 curriculum comprehensively details the knowledge, skills and behaviours expected from a trained paediatrician working in the UK. The assessment standards help to focus on the desired outcomes of each level of training.

The curriculum has been updated and approved by the GMC as of 1 July 2013 to reflect changes to workplace-based assessments for StRs (for trainees who commenced training from 1 August 2007 to present).

It meets the General Medical Council's 17 standards as detailed in their standards for curricula and assessment systems.

What the curriculum includes

  • Competences that need to be achieved by trainees through their stages of training in becoming a consultant paediatrician
  • Assessment strategy through the whole of their training to successful completion and the award of a Certificate of Completion of Training (CCT)

Benefits of using the curriculum

  • Trainees are able to develop their personal development plans and chart their progress through training, ensuring they are gaining the appropriate experiences and continuing to develop towards being a consultant. This contributes to appraisal, self-assessment, self-directed learning and educational meetings.
  • The curriculum gives the doctor in training and their tutors guidance about the areas that need to be covered. It gives a clear picture of what has to be achieved by the end of each stage of training. It helps identify areas of practice that need to be improved and those in which the trainee has confidence.
  • Tutors can ensure local teaching programmes map to the curriculum.
  • Lay people can see what their paediatricians are working towards in their training.

General Paediatrics Curriculum (PDF, 1.72MB, 160 pages)

General Paediatrics Checklist Level 1 (MS Doc, 89KB, 4 pages)

General Paediatrics Checklist Level 2 (MS Doc, 92KB, 4 pages)

General Paediatrics Checklist Level 3 (MS Doc, 84KB, 4 pages)

Training levels

Training is divided into three levels.

Level 1 (ST1-3)  - lasts 2-3 years

Provides basic knowledge of paediatrics and child health, with placements in acute general, neonatal and community paediatric posts.

Full MRCPCH will be necessary to progress into the next level of training - more about MRCPCH examinations.

Level 2 (ST 4-5) - lasts 1-2 years

Training is provided mainly in district general hospitals (DGHs), using existing core training posts and rotations including community paediatrics and neonatology.

There is a greater emphasis on outpatient presentations, and an expectation of a higher level of performance in relation to common paediatric conditions, child development and safeguarding.

Level 3 (ST6-8) - lasts 2-3 years

Trainees may choose to stay on in general paediatrics training, or apply in competition for one of the 17 accredited sub-specialties.

Entry to a sub-specialty takes place at ST6 or ST7, depending on the sub-specialty curriculum. StRs training in general paediatrics will be matched to ST 6 - ST8 posts by their local Training Programme Directors (TPDs) in accordance with local availability of training opportunities, trainee requirements and preferences.

More about applying to the National Grid for sub-specialty training

More about the 17 sub-specialties - including curricula

Diagram of postgraduate training in general paediatrics

 Diagram of three levels of paediatric training for ST1-8

Key features of general paediatric training

Trainee-led

The ePortfolio is designed to encourage a learner-centred approach with the support of Educational Supervisors.

The ePortfolio contains tools to identify educational needs, enables the setting of learning goals, reflective learning and personal development.

Competency-based

The curriculum outlines competences that trainees must reach by the end of the programme, and is directly linked to the ePortfolio.

Continuation of good medical practice

Building on Foundation training, the curriculum contains important emphasis on generic competences necessary for practice as a paediatrician. 

Supervision

Each trainee has a series of people with clearly defined roles and responsibilities who oversee their training. These include Clinical Supervisor, Educational Supervisor, College Tutor, Programme Director, and Head of School. 

Each trainee has regular appraisal meetings and reviews of their competence progression and workplace based assessments, as set out ePortfolio. 

Workplace-based assessments

Regular workplace-based assessments are conducted throughout training. These build on those used in the Foundation programme with an Annual Review of Competence Progression (ARCP).

Assesment tools include Directly Observed Procedures (DOPS), Case Based Discussion (CbD), mini-Clinical Evaluation Exercise (mini-CEX) and multisource feedback (MSF).

More about assessment

MRCPCH examination

The three theory examinations and clinical examination that comprise the MRCPCH are mapped to the curriculum for general paediatrics in order to provide a knowledge base for training. 

More about MRCPCH examination

START assessment

The START assessment is designed to guide trainees as they prepare for completion of training and practice as a newly appointed consultant.  It assesses the clinical and non clinical skills needed for effective practice as a consultant paediatrician.

More about START

Useful links