Community Child Health

Community Child Health is the care of children outside hospital. It is rewarding and challenging - every day is different. Community paediatricians see children as outpatients for a variety of reasons. 

 What makes a Community Child Health Paediatrician?

A Community Child Health Paediatrician is a doctor who has expertise in working with vulnerable groups of children and their carers. This includes children with developmental disorders and disabilities, those with complex behavioural issues and those who are at risk of abuse or are being abused. They also have a particular role with children who are “Looked After” or are in the process of being adopted.

They hold clinics in a variety of settings with an emphasis on continuity of care and have strong skills in multi-agency working particularly with education and social care. Community paediatricians have a vital role in planning and implementing local strategies to improve the health of all children in their area including safeguarding policy and universal and targeted lifestyle programmes.

Curriculum documents

Community Child Health Curriculum (PDF, 2.21MB, 176 pages)

Level 3 Community Child Health assessment requirements (PDF, 31KB, 3 pages)

Assessment guidance for Level 3 trainees (ST6-8) (MS Doc, 27.1 KB, 3  pages)

Community Child Health Guidance Checklist (MS Doc, 160 KB, 4 pages)

Community Child Health 'Rules' (MS Doc, 32 KB, 2 pages)

Questionnaires

Community Child Health Unit Questionnaire (MS Doc, 242 KB, 4 pages)

Community Child Health Trainee Questionnaire (MS Doc, 242 KB, 4 pages)

Workforce

Creating New Posts and Programmes for the Community Child Health Grid (PDF, 443KB, 2 pages)

Contacts

In most cases, you can contact the Community Child Health (CCH) Lead for your region - see the second table.

If you have a question about your CCT, you can contact one of the CSAC Training Advisors - see the first table.

CSAC members

Role Name Email
Chair

Dr Elaine Lewis

 elainelewis1@nhs.net

Training Advisor

(trainees A-L)

Dr Emma Bradley Emma.Bradley@cchp.nhs.uk

Training Advisor 

(trainees M-Z)

Dr Nia John nia.john@wales.nhs.uk
Quality Advisor

Dr John Agbenu

john.agbenu@lthtr.nhs.uk
Assessment Advisor

Dr Brindha Dhandapani

brindha.dhandapani@nhs.net
Trainee Representative

Dr Manjari Tanwar

manjari_singh@hotmail.com

Community Child Health Leads

Region Name Email 
East Midlands South Dr Devanitha Sekaran

Devanitha.Sekaran@leicspart.nhs.uk 

East Mindlands North Dr Katherine Martin

Katherine.Martin3@nuh.nhs.uk

East of England Dr Susan Ozer

susan.ozer@nhs.net

Kent, Surrey, Sussex

Dr Sarah Birks

sarah.birks1@nhs.net
London

Dr Brindha Dhandapani

brindha.dhandapani@nhs.net
Mersey

Dr Rebecca Shopland

 rhshopland@yahoo.co.uk
Northern Ireland

Dr Anne Armstrong

anne.armstrong@belfasttrust.hscni.net
Oxford 

Dr Sarah Haden

svhaden@gmail.com 
North Scotland

Dr Ai Lin Lee

ailinlee@nhs.net 
South East Scotland

Dr Anna Chillingworth

Anna.Chillingworth@nhslothian.scot.nhs.uk
West Scotland

Dr Allyson Ramsay

allyson.ramsay@ggc.scot.nhs.uk
Severn

Dr Emma Bradley

 Emma.Bradley@cchp.nhs.uk
Peninsula 

Dr Eleanor Thomas

eleanor.thomas4@nhs.net
Wales

Dr Nia John

nia.john@wales.nhs.uk
Wessex 

Dr Dannielle Rowley

dannielle.rowley@solent.nhs.uk. 
West Midlands

Dr Neal McCathie

Neal.McCathie@bhamcommunity.nhs.uk
Yorkshire and Humber

Dr Shobha Sivaramakrishnan

shobha.sivaramakrishnan@nhs.net
North Western Dr Sharmishtha Gupta

Sharmishtha.Gupta@LTHTR.nhs.uk

Specialty group

British Association For Community Child Health