Paediatric Gastroenterology, Hepatology and Nutrition

PGHAN provides specialised support services to investigate and manage rare disorders or complex cases of more common disorders affecting the gastrointestinal tract and liver.

What makes a Paediatric Gastroenterologist or Hepatologist?

A Paediatric Gastroenterologist is a doctor who provides tertiary services for the diagnosis and long-term management of rare disorders and complex cases of more common disorders that affect the gastrointestinal tract. They provide nutritional support for patients, including those with temporary or permanent intestinal failure and manage services for Home Parenteral Nutrition. 

A Paediatric Hepatologist is a doctor who provides both tertiary and national hepatology services in designated centres. They diagnose and manage paediatric liver diseases including acute and chronic liver failure. They are co-located with transplant services to provide liver and small bowel transplantation.

Gastroenterologists and Hepatologists often provide specialist advice in a model of shared care. They are co-located in regional units with key services such as paediatric surgery and paediatric intensive care.

They understand the indications, benefits and risks of procedures for diagnostic evaluation and require specialised skills in performing and interpreting the results of tests such as gastrointestinal endoscopy and liver biopsy.

Applications

Level 3 trainees (ST6-8) have the opportunity to apply for sub-specialty training via the NTN (National Training Number) Grid.

About applying for a sub-specialty

The curricula

There are curricula for both the PGHAN sub-specialty and paediatric endoscopy:

Your training

These documents will support you during your PGHAN training:

These questionnaires can be completed by you as the trainee and your unit:

Specialty group

British Society of Paediatric Gastroenterology, Hepatology & Nutrition

College Specialty Advisory Committee

These are the current members of the PGHAN CSAC.

Role Name Email Address
Chair Dr Sue Protheroe

sue.protheroe@bch.nhs.uk

Training Advisor (Hepatology)

Dr Mona Abdel-Hady

mona.abdelhady@bch.nhs.uk 
Training Advisor (Gastroenterology) / Lead for Endoscopy Dr Lucy Howarth

Lucy.Howarth@ouh.nhs.uk

Training Advisor (Nutrition)  Dr Akshay Batra

akshay.batra@uhs.nhs.uk

Trainee Representative Dr Ed Gaynor

edgaynor@gmail.com

Assessment Advisor Dr Nkem Onyeador

nkem.onyeador@nhs.net

President of BSPGHAN Dr Nick Croft

president@bspghan.org.uk

Quality Advisor Dr Jonathan Hind

jhind@nhs.net

General Paediatrician with a Special Interest

Dr Anna Pigott anna.pigott@uhns.nhs.uk