Paediatric Intensive Care Medicine (PICM)

PICM involves looking after neonates, infants and children from all specialties while they are critically ill and in need of close observation and monitoring, and frequent interventions.

What makes a Paediatric Intensive Care Physician (PICP)?

The PIC is a doctor from a paediatric, intensive care or anaesthetic background who is able to resuscitate, stabilize, transfer and treat critically ill and injured children.

These doctors identify those children who need intensive care support, and are skilled at procedures and techniques needed to deliver that support. They are expert at directing, leading and coordinating both medical and surgical resuscitation and can prioritise and respond to new and urgent clinical situations.

PICPs are able to look after children with a wide range of life threatening pathologies within the emergency, transfer and intensive care setting. They will interact, coordinate, educate and supervise all members of the intensive care team and understand the unique interaction of the intensive care unit with every component of the hospital.

These doctors work in difficult and challenging environments within the emergency, transfer and the intensive care settings. They are also able to coordinate and deliver appropriate care in the setting of a major incident.

Curriculum documents

PICM (Paediatric Intensive Care Medicine) curriculum (PDF, 2.12MB, 187 pages)

PICM Level 3 assessment guidance (PDF, 312KB, 4 pages)

PICM guidance c hecklist (MS Doc, 85.5KB, 4 pages)

PICM year 1 competency document (PDF, 231KB, 12 pages)

PICM year 2 competency document (PDF, 235KB, 13 pages)

Committee membership 

This sub-specialty is looked after by the Paediatric Intensive Care Medicine Intercollegiate Specialty Advisory Committee (PICMISAC), a joint committee of the following organisations:

  • Paediatric Intensive Care Society (PICS)
  • Faculty of Intensive Care  Medicine (FICM)
  • Royal College of Anaesthesia (RCoA) 
  • Royal College of Paediatrics and Child Health (RCPCH).
Role Name Email address

Chair

Dr Mehrengise Cooper mehrengise.cooper@nhs.net 
Training Advisor/Quality Advisor Dr Julie Richardson

julie.richardson@belfasttrust.hscni.net

Training Advisor

Dr Kim Sykes kim.sykes@uhs.nhs.uk 

Assessment Advisor

Dr Shruti Agrawal shruti.agrawal@addenbrookes.nhs.uk

RCPCH Trainee Representative

Dr Peter Sidgwick petersidgwick@hotmail.com 
PICS Trainee Representative Dr El Lam

eldilla@gmail.com

RCoA Representative

Dr Steven Cray  STEVEN.CRAY@bch.nhs.uk 

RCoA Representative

Dr Jeff Perring  jeff.perring@sch.nhs.uk 

RCoA Training Manager

Ms Claudia Moran  cmoran@rcoa.ac.uk 

FICM Supervisor

Ms Anna Ripley  aripley@rcoa.ac.uk 

PICS Representative

Dr Margarita Burmester   m.burmester@rbht.nhs.uk 

PICS Acute Transport Group

Dr Kate Parkins   kate.parkins@nwts.nhs.uk 

FICM Representative

Dr Susan Jackson  susan.jackson@nuth.nhs.uk 

FICM Representative

Dr Liza Keating  liza.keating@royalberkshire.nhs.uk 

Related links

Paediatric Intensive Care Audit Network (PICANet)

Paediatric Intensive Care Society (PICS)

Faculty of Intensive Care Medicine (FICM)