Paediatric Neurodisability

It has been estimated that about 20% of the child population will have some level of special educational needs. The remit of a consultant paediatrician in neurodisabilty encompasses the initial assessment, diagnosis, and ongoing management of children with potential and established learning and/or physical disabilities and co-morbidities.

What makes a Neurodisability Paediatrician?

A Neurodisability Paediatrician is a doctor who has specialist expertise in the management of children and young people with disabilities resulting from congenital or acquired long-term conditions. These problems are generally due to impairment in the nervous or musculo-skeletal systems and can be static or progressive in nature.

While they are involved in diagnosis, their emphasis is in managing the complex co-morbidities seen, targeting the patients’ rehabilitation and enablement. While working closely with local teams in the hospital and community (such as Genetics, Neurology, Community Paediatrics, Surgical specialties and Palliative care as well as NGOs, education and social services) they often provide specialist regional advice in a model of shared care.

At a tertiary level they have developed specialist skills within Neurosciences, in the assessment of motor and/or neuro-behavioural disorders, including ADHD and Autism, and/or neuro-rehabilitation, often sub-specialising in one or more of these areas.

Curriculum documents

Neurodisability Curriculum (PDF, 2.23MB, 170 pages)

Neurodisability Assessment Guidance (PDF, 217KB, 4 pages)

Neurodisability Guidance Checklist (MS Doc, 151KB, 5 pages)

Questionnaires

Neurodisability Unit Questionnaire (MS Doc, 238KB, 5 pages)

Neurodisability Trainee Questionnaire (MS Doc, 251KB, 6 pages)

CSAC membership 

Role             Name                                      Email Address
Chair Dr Katherine Martin

katherine.martin3@nuh.nhs.uk

Training Advisor

 Dr Belinda Crowe Belinda.Crowe@gosh.nhs.uk 

Training Advisor

Dr Joanna Coghill  Joanna.coghill@cpft.nhs.uk 
Trainee Representative            Dr Nagashree Nallapeta

drnagashree@gmail.com

Assessment Advisor Dr Claire Lundy

claire.lundy@belfasttrust.hscni.net

Quality Advisor Dr Charlie Fairhurst

Charlie.Fairhurst@gstt.nhs.uk

Related links

British Academy of Childhood Disability

British Paediatric Neurology Association