Clinical Excellence Awards (CEAs) for Paediatrics

CEAs are fixed term awards that recognise and reward the exceptional contribution of NHS consultants - over and above that normally expected in a post - to the values and goals of the NHS and to patient care.

Awards are time limited, usually for five years, and are renewable by competitive application. This page explains the process, and includes an urgent update for those due to have renewed their Award in 2020.
Last modified
13 July 2020

Update - register with ACCEA by end of July for one-year extension to renew existing Award

Following the COVID-19 outbreak in the UK, the Advisory Committee on Clinical Excellence Awards (ACCEA) has suspended the 2020 ACCEA round for all applicants, in England and Wales, New and Renewal.

Those in England and Wales due to renew an existing Award this year (with Awards due to expire 1 April 2021) must now register with the ACCEA if they wish their existing Award expiry date to be extended by one year to enable them to apply for Renewal in 2021.

The deadline to register for this one-year extension is 31 July 2020.

If you do not register by then your Award will expire and you will then have to apply through the New Awards route.

Details of the registration process are in this notice on the DHSC ACCEA website. Those affected should read the notice in full before completing the online form to register for an extension, with the opportunity to renew in 2021. 

The latest information will continue to be updated on the DHSC ACCEA web pages.

Those who already hold an Award must ensure ACCEA has the email address at which they should be contacted with updates by logging in to the ACCEA online system

The College is continuing to monitor updates from the DHSC ACCEA.

Information on the College process follows below.

Systems in the UK

England - Applications at the national level are assessed by the Advisory Committee on Clinical Excellence Awards (ACCEA), administered by staff of the Department of Health and Social Care (England).

Wales - The Welsh Government has arranged that national level applications for CEAs are also assessed by the ACCEA.

Northern Ireland - National level applications are assessed by the Northern Ireland Department of Health. However, the Northern Ireland process is currently suspended. There is currently no indication of when a CEA round will next be launched in Northern Ireland. The College continues to seek updates regularly. More information on any national round for Northern Ireland will be found on the Northern Ireland Department of Health website.

Scotland - No current national CEA process for new applicants.

Application process

During a round, applications are made by individual consultants either to their employer locally for local awards at levels L1-L9, or at the national level for CEAs at the Bronze (L9 equivalent), Silver (L10), Gold (L11) or Platinum (L12) levels.

Consultants can choose to seek support from their Medical Royal College for their application for a national level award in England or Wales. For Bronze, Silver or Gold Awards this would be a citation to the ACCEA. For Platinum level this is in the form of a recommendation to the Academy of Medical Royal Colleges which produces citations to the ACCEA for Platinum Awards. 

Applications should be drafted using the latest available DHSC ACCEA forms and guidance - currently the 2020 Application Forms and 2020 Guidance.

When applying to a Round in Northern Ireland, a request to the Northern Ireland Department of Health to seek a citation from the applicant's Medical Royal College must be indicated on the application to the DH-NI. Citations would only be sought by the DH-NI for applicants at Gold (L11) and Platinum (L12) level.

New Bronze, Silver and Gold applications (England and Wales)

During a round, the College is permitted to submit a very limited number of College citations to the ACCEA for new Bronze, Silver and Gold awards in the ACCEA Round in England and Wales. In 2019 a total of 3 Gold, 4 Silver and 23 Bronze citations were permitted to the College by the ACCEA for all members applying from across England and Wales.

How applications for College citations are assessed

Applications are assessed by the College Area Ranking Committee (ARC). Each ARC is permitted to put forward a limited number of Bronze, Silver and Gold applicants for assessment in the second round by the College National Ranking Committee (NRC).

For more details, see Application process above.

New Platinum applications (England and Wales)

The Academy of Medical Royal Colleges competition for Platinum Level Award citations involves the RCPCH acting as the Paediatrics Platinum Ranking Committee of the AoMRC.

How to seek College support

Application forms and guidance are published by the ACCEA on their web pages (see below). Applications on the previous year's application forms are accepted.

Renewal applications

The ACCEA accepts College citations in support of renewal CEA applications. During a round, the College will provide a citation in support of a renewal application for a National Award to every College member who requests one during the ACCEA Round provided they meet the College criteria for 'Good Standing' (see below link) and that they have not made any inaccurate statements in their draft application submitted to the RCPCH. Citations will be provided by members of the College National Ranking Committee.

Applying for a higher award

Members are reminded that those applying for renewal of an existing award can at the same time apply for a new higher level of National Award. (For example, a renewal applicant for a Silver Award can at the same time seek a new Gold Award.)