Ireland Committee

This Committee allows paediatricians to act as advocates for the College in Northern Ireland in relation to media, public affairs and policy work. It also offers input and advice on member-focused activity such as training courses and events.


In 2014 the RCPCH Belfast Office was established with a remit to conduct specific work in the health policy landscape of Northern Ireland on behalf of the College. Following due consultation with members across Northern Ireland and the Republic of Ireland which finished on 4 September 2015, the Northern Ireland Committee was formed under RCPCH Terms of Reference.

On 18 October 2016, against a backdrop of broader College reforms, the Northern Ireland Committee agreed to create a Committee seat for the RCPCH Regional Lead for the Republic of Ireland and to retitle the Northern Ireland Committee; the Ireland Committee to truly give way to meaningful representation of members across the island of Ireland.  In March 2017 the membership was once again consulted upon in order to align the Ireland Committee membership with the external affairs focussed forward work plan and RCPCH priorities.  The newly constituted committee held their inaugural meeting on 26 September 2017.  The current Ireland Committee membership is detailed below.

This Committee represents the membership of the RCPCH in both Northern Ireland and the Republic of Ireland but, specifically directs College business in the Northern Ireland jurisdiction.

The Committee meets three times per year, in January, May and, September and paediatricians are invited to contact members about issues they wish to have discussed.

The Ireland Committee is chaired by the Officer for Ireland, Dr Karl McKeever.  Dr McKeever also represents the membership across Ireland at RCPCH Council.


Committee meeting dates in 2018

Tuesday 23 January 2018 (TBC)

Tuesday 22 May 2018 (TBC)

*Minutes of committee meetings are available on request from the Regional Coordinator, contact details below.


Committee membership

Role   Name Email

Committee Chair

  Dr Karl McKeever

RCPCH Regional Lead for Northern Ireland

  Dr David Millar

RCPCH Trainee Representative for Northern Ireland

  Dr Julie-Ann Collins

RCPCH Regional Lead for Republic of Ireland

  TBC  Nominations opening soon

Quality for Informatics Representative

  Dr Ray Nethercott

Medical Management and Leadership Representative

  Dr Mugilan Anandarajan

Health Promotion Representative

  Dr Rory Sweeney

Quality Improvement and Patient Safety Representative

  Dr Danielle Leemon
RCPCH SAS Representative Northern Ireland   Dr Lyndsey Thompson 


Anna McDaid, Regional Coordinator or