Top paediatricians and scientists recognised in New Year’s Honours

On 1 January 2022, her Majesty the Queen announced the New Year Honours list for 2022. We are delighted that Professor Russell Viner, our immediate past president has received an honour alongside the chief medical officers for England, Scotland and Wales, and a range of health and care workers for support provided during the pandemic.

Dr Camilla Kingdon, President of the Royal College of Paediatrics and Child Health (RCPCH) said:

My absolute warmest congratulations go out to Russell Viner and all those who have been recognised in the New Year Honours.  We know how tirelessly paediatricians, scientists and health and care workers have worked to support those in their care.

Russell’s contribution to the college has been colossal. During his time here and beyond, he has worked determinedly to highlight many challenging issues across Paediatrics and Child Health.  His particular work during the pandemic has made a substantial contribution to the evolving body of evidence of the impact of COVID-19 on the health and wellbeing of children and young people and this has helped inform many important decisions.

This New Year Honours reflects the contribution that so many of our countries’ top medics have given at what has been an exceptionally difficult time. This of course includes Chris Whitty, Gregor Smith, Frank Atherton, Jonathan Van-Tam and Jenny Harries. These honours are so richly deserved, and I thank them for their unstinting leadership, which has been inspirational to so many of us working on the front line.

It was also excellent to see our long standing fellow Professor Shakeel Ahmed Qureshi Professor of Paediatric Cardiology receive recognition, alongside a host of children’s charities and council leaders for services to children and young people, including during the pandemic. These individuals are a credit to the children and young people they support.

College members receiving honours include: 

  • Professor Russell Viner, Former president of RCPCH, and Professor of Adolescent Health at the UCL Institute of Child Health, CBE for services to Child and Adolescent Health, particularly during COVID-19
  • Professor Shakeel Ahmed Qureshi  Professor of Paediatric Cardiology, Professor of Paediatric Cardiology, Guy's and St Thomas' Hospitals Foundation Trust. For services to Paediatric Cardiology and Charity
  • Dr Catherine Morris, Love the One charity, India, for services to Healthcare and Child Welfare in India
  • Dr Mary Cusack, Love the One charity, India, for services to Healthcare and Child Welfare in India