RCPCH Members' Award Winners - 2022 to present

This is one of the newest awards at RCPCH. It aims to honour members who may not yet be eligible for honours such as the James Spence Medal or Honorary Fellowship but have done exceptional work in support of child health.
Table of contents


The Members' Award was created in 2021 for awards to be presented in the following year to celebrate the achievements of members who may not yet be eligible for other awards within the College but are still doing outstanding work. 

Any member can make a nomination. The RCPCH Nominations Committee assesses each individual’s contribution and makes a recommendation to Council as to who should receive the award. Awards are made for members who have done exceptional work in support of the College’s objectives. This work may either be sustained over a period or may be a single piece of work of national and / or international importance. It may be across any field of relevant work – for instance, clinical, research, service delivery, or teaching / training.

Find out more about the RCPCH Members' Awards

Winners are listed by year admitted, and then alphabetically by surname. We have included the job titles where available as listed at the time they were awarded the RCPCH Members' Award.


Dr Clarissa Chase, Consultant Paediatric Emergency Medicine, University Hospital Southampton

Joint winners;

Ms Katie Barnes, Associate Chief Nurse (Advanced Practice) and Paediatric Advanced Clinical Practitioner (ACP) Emergency Department, Alder Hey Hospital

Professor Colin Morgan, Head of School (Paediatrics) for Health Education England North West and Consultant Neonatologist, Liverpool Women’s Hospital


Professor Ian Sinha, Professor in the Division of Child Health at the University of Liverpool and Consultant Respiratory Paediatrician, Alder Hey Hospital

Dr Elizabeth Whittaker, Senior Clinical Lecturer, Imperial College London and Department of Paediatric Infectious Diseases, St Mary's Hospital London. 

Dr Nadia Baaser and Dr Habab Easa, Team Soft Landing Co-Founders, Paediatric Emergency Medicine Consultant, Barts Health NHS Trust and Senior Paediatric Trainee, Oxford Deanery 


Dr Tessa Davies, Consultant in Paediatric Emergency Medicine at the Royal London Hospital, and Senior Lecturer at Queen Mary University of London

Dr Michael Farquhar, Consultant in children's sleep medicine, Evelina London Children's Hospital

Dr Nashwa Matta, Associate Specialist in Neonatology and Neurodisability at NHS Greater Glasgow and Clyde and Honorary Clinical Senior Lecturer, University of Glasgow