BPSU Scientific Committee

The British Paediatric Surveillance Unit Scientific Committee oversees the scientific matters of the BPSU, providing advice and support for researchers wishing to undertake surveillance of rare paediatric disorders through the BPSU 'electronic orange card' reporting scheme.


Membership comprises representatives from each of the BPSU's parent bodies, three medical advisers, two lay representatives, a Republic of Ireland representative, a trainee representative and clinical/academic expertise from individuals interested in child health research.

Current members are:

  • Chair: Dr Peter Davis, Consultant Paediatric Intensivist, Bristol Royal Hospital for Children
  • Deputy Chair: Dr Ifeanyichukwu Okike, Consultant Paediatrician, University Teaching Hospitals of Derby & Burton NHS Foundation Trust
  • Medical advisor: Dr Ellen Pringle, Specialist Registrar in Public Health, Public Health England
  • Medical advisor: Dr Lamiya Samad, Research associate, UCL GOS Institute of Child Health
  • UCL GOS Institute of Child Health representative: Dr David Elliman, Consultant in Community Child Health, UCL GOS Institute of Child Health 
  • PHE representative: Dr Gavin Dabrera, Public Health England
  • Republic of Ireland representative: Prof Susan O'Connell, Consultant Endocrinologist, Children's Health Ireland at Crumlin 
  • Trainee representative: Dr Chenqu Suo, Wellcome Trust Clinical PhD Fellow, University of Cambridge
  • Trainee representative: Dr Sarah Clarke, Doctoral Research Fellow, University of Bristol
  • Patient/carer representative: Madeleine Wang
  • Patient/carer representative: Dr Jane Sutton
  • Committee member: Dr Simon Lenton, Consultant Community Paediatrician, Retired
  • Committee member: Dr Rob Negrine, Consultant Neonatologist, Birmingham Children's Hospital
  • Committee member: Dr Hani Ayyash, Consultant Neurodevelopmental Paediatrician, Peterborough City Hospital
  • Committee member: Dr Kevin Wilson-Smith, Health Protection Scotland
  • Committee member: Dr Soonie Patel, Consultant, Paediatric Oncology, Croydon University Hospital
  • Committee member: Dr Seilesh Kadambari, Clinical lecturer, Oxford University