Tony Jackson Memorial Prize

This awards medical students and foundation doctors in the UK and Republic of Ireland for outstanding personal reflections on any aspect of paediatrics experienced in the UK or internationally. Winners receive £500 and an opportunity to present at RCPCH Conference and exhibition. Applications for this year closed on 17 January.

Important notice

It is with regret that we announce that RCPCH Conference and exhibition 2020 is postponed in light of public health concerns around COVID-19.

If you have booked your travel, we can reimburse up to £50 as stated on your confirmation letter. Please download and complete our expenses form and return with proof of purchase to us at

About the prize

The aim is to encourage medical students and foundation doctors to consider a career in paediatrics.

The prize winner receives £500 for a personal reflection upon any aspect of paediatrics or child health experienced in the UK or abroad in the form of an oral presentation at the RCPCH Conference.

The prize is supported by a generous bequest from Dr Tony Jackson, former consultant paediatrician at the Royal London Hospital and Queen Elizabeth Hospital for Children. Dr Jackson was instrumental in the transformation of cystic fibrosis from a fatal disease of infancy to a chronic disease of adults. He was an active supporter of the Cystic Fibrosis Trust, which awarded him its John Panchaud Medal.

How to apply

Applicants were invited to submit an abstract of no more than 500 words. Applications for this year are now closed.

A committee of judges, from our Trainees Committee, College team and UK Aspiring Paediatricians (UKAPS) Committee select the finalists and ultimately the winner. The panel looks for abstracts that:

  • include objectives and outcomes related to an aspect of paediatrics
  • show originality of thought
  • consider the implications for impact on clinical practice
  • demonstrate personal reflection

For prize winners and finalists

We invite the authors of the top three abstracts to give a seven-minute oral presentation (five minutes presenting and two minutes for questions) at the UK Aspiring Paediatricians session at the RCPCH Conference and exhibition.

The prize winner is determined on the day by the panel of judges, based on the criteria above and formally awarded their prize at the College's Annual General Meeting, which also takes place at the Conference. The three finalists therefore have their Conference attendance costs and up to £50 travel expenses covered by the RCPCH.

Past winners and finalists


  • Winner - Sarah O’Rourke
  • Finalists - Cameron Morrice and Jessica Salkind


  • Winner - Esther Westwood
  • Finalists - Camille Kostov, Kate McGraw-Allen and Srividhiya Sriskandakumar

You can download some of the presentations below.