Tony Jackson Memorial Prize

This awards medical students and foundation doctors in the UK and Republic of Ireland for outstanding personal reflections on any aspect of paediatrics experienced in the UK or internationally. Winners receive £500 and an opportunity to present at RCPCH Conference.

Applications are closed for the 2024 round.
Hashtag Choose Paediatrics

About the prize

The aim is to encourage medical students and foundation doctors to consider a career in paediatrics.

The prize winner receives £500 for a personal reflection upon any aspect of paediatrics or child health experienced in the UK or abroad in the form of an oral presentation at RCPCH Conference.

The prize is supported by a generous bequest from Dr Tony Jackson, former consultant paediatrician at the Royal London Hospital and Queen Elizabeth Hospital for Children. Dr Jackson was instrumental in the transformation of cystic fibrosis from a fatal disease of infancy to a chronic disease of adults. He was an active supporter of the Cystic Fibrosis Trust, which awarded him its John Panchaud Medal.

How to apply for the 2024 prize

Applications are now closed. Please check back in autumn 2024 for the 2025 round.

You'll need to complete our short online form and upload your abstract of no more than 500 words.

A committee of judges; RCPCH Officer for Recruitment, Trainee Representative for Recruitment, and UK Aspiring Paediatricians (UKAPS) Committee select the finalists and ultimately the winner. The panel looks for abstracts that:

  • include objectives and outcomes related to an aspect of paediatrics
  • show the originality of thought
  • consider the implications for impact on clinical practice
  • demonstrate personal reflection.

We will invite the authors of the top three abstracts to give a seven-minute oral presentation (five minutes for presenting and two minutes for questions) at the UKAPs session at RCPCH Conference on Tuesday 26 March 2024 in Birmingham. The panel will judge on the same criteria and determine the winner! We will cover your one-day entry to Conference and your travel. You will need to be available to attend the conference on this day if shortlisted as you will need to present your abstract - so book your leave in advance!

2024 winner and finalists

Huge congratulations to our 2024 winner, Laith Evans, and finalists Lucas Loo and Crawford Fairfield! You can download their abstracts and presentations below.

Tony Jackson Memorial Prize 2024
Left to right: Lucas, Laith and Crawford