College announces candidates for two Vice President posts

Voting is now open in the election for the posts of VP for Science & Research and VP for Health Policy.

The College is pleased to introduce a panel of two candidates for each of the elected positions of Vice President for Science & Research and Vice President for Health Policy, two important senior roles at the RCPCH.  

Voting is open from Monday 22 November 2021 and closes on Monday 20 December 2021 at 12:00. Members eligible to vote are Fellows, Senior Fellows, Senior Members, Ordinary Members and Honorary Fellows whose primary postal address registered with us is in the UK or Republic of Ireland - and they will receive ballot information, allowing them to vote by post or online, from the College’s independent scrutineers, Civica.

Both VP elects will be announced by Wednesday 22 December 2021.

Jo Revill, CEO of RCPCH said:

These two roles are pivotal in how the College will support and promote research and policy in child health and it is motivating to see strong candidates for both roles. We encourage all eligible members to use their vote and decide who will help the College lead in these important areas as we take forward our three-year strategy.

The VP for Science and Research has responsibility for promoting and enhancing academic activity in the UK among paediatricians at all levels. This post provides an opportunity for an individual with influential research stature and experience to play a central role in shaping the national landscape to make UK paediatric research world leading.

The VP for Health Policy will drive policy and advocacy priorities on issues like prevention and health inequalities in childhood, future services, and workforce planning. This role also supports the work of the College’s busy Health Policy Committees which cover a range of areas from health improvement, child protection, informatics, service improvement and workforce.

The candidates are as follows.

Vice President for Health Policy

Dr Michael McKean

Dr Bimal Mehta

Vice President for Science & Research

Professor Paul Dimitri

Professor Kirsty Le Doare

Members can log in to see candidates' manifestos and video statements.