National Diabetes Quality Programme - Self-assessment report 2018-2022

This report provides an overview from the self-assessments completed by paediatric diabetes units in England and Wales between 2018 and 2022. More than 150 self-assessment measures evaluate compliance to the programme and to Best Practice Tariff requirements.
Icons, such as medical briefcase, syringe and medicines, bar chart, hand with blood droplet, hospital

The National Diabetes Quality Programme (NDQP) was established in 2018 in collaboration with the National Children and Young People’s Diabetes Network, and aimed to to help drive outcomes, improvements and encourage service change in paediatric diabetes care in England and Wales.

Each year, participating service teams submitted their compliance against the NDQP's self-assessment measures, with sign off by the clinical lead and medical director of the Health Board/Trust. Network managers also submitted their compliance on behalf of the regional network.

The total number of submissions varied per year for varied reasons, including pressures from the COVID-19 pandemic.

The self-assessment was supported by peer review, in which external stakeholders also evaluated a service's compliance to the measures.

This report, which you can download below, presents detailed findings of the measures in three groups - Health Board/Trust, multidisciplinary team and network - and across varied themes.

You can also read a summary of the self assessment data in our NDQP impact report 2023.

Participating hospitals in the NDQP 2018-23

East of England

  • Addenbrooke's Hospital
  • Basildon University Hospital
  • Bedford Hospital
  • Broomfield Hospital
  • Colchester General Hospital
  • Hinchingbrooke Hospital
  • Ipswich Hospital
  • James Paget Hospital
  • Lister Hospital
  • Luton and Dunstable Hospital
  • Norfolk and Norwich University Hospital
  • Peterborough City Hospital
  • Princess Alexandra Hospital, Harlow
  • Queen Elizabeth Hospital, Kings Lynn
  • Southend University Hospital
  • Watford General Hospital
  • West Suffolk Hospital, Bury St Edmunds

East Midlands

  • Chesterfield Royal Hospital
  • Derbyshire Children's Hospital
  • Grantham and District Hospital
  • Kettering General Hospital
  • Kings Mill Hospital
  • Leicester Royal Infirmary
  • Lincoln County Hospital
  • Northampton General Hospital
  • Nottingham Children's Hospital
  • Pilgrim Hospital

London and South East

  • Barnet General Hospital
  • Chase Farm Hospital
  • Chelsea and Westminster Hospital
  • Croydon University Hospital
  • East Surrey Hospital
  • Epsom & St Helier Hospital
  • Evelina London Children’s Hospital
  • Frimley Park Hospital
  • Great Ormond Street Hospital
  • Newham University Hospital
  • Princess Royal University Hospital
  • Queens Hospital, Romford
  • Royal Free Hospital
  • St George's Hospital
  • St Mary's Hospital
  • St Peter's Hospital
  • The Hillingdon Hospital
  • The Royal London Hospital
  • The Whittington Hospital
  • University College London Hospital
  • West Middlesex University Hospital
  • Whipps Cross University Hospital

North East and North Cumbria

  • County Durham and Darlington NHS Foundation Trust
  • Cumberland Infirmary
  • Friarage Hospital
  • James Cook University Hospital
  • Queen Elizabeth Hospital, Gateshead
  • Royal Victoria Infirmary, Newcastle Upon Tyne
  • South Tyneside District Hospital
  • Sunderland Royal Hospital
  • University Hospital of North Tees
  • West Cumberland Hospital

North West

  • Alder Hey Children’s Hospital
  • Arrowe Park Hospital
  • Countess of Chester Hospital NHS Trust
  • Leighton Hospital
  • Macclesfield District General Hospital
  • Ormskirk & District General Hospital
  • Royal Albert Edward Infirmary
  • Royal Blackburn Hospital
  • Royal Bolton Hospital
  • Royal Lancaster Infirmary
  • Royal Manchester Children’s Hospital
  • Royal Preston Hospital
  • Salford Royal Hospital
  • Stepping Hill Hospital
  • Tameside General Hospital
  • The Pennine Acute Hospitals NHS Trust
  • Victoria Hospital, Blackpool
  • Warrington Hospital
  • Whiston Hospital
  • Wythenshawe Hospital

    South West

    • Bristol Royal Hospital for Children
    • Cheltenham and Gloucester Hospital
    • Derriford Hospital
    • Great Western Hospital
    • Musgrove Park Hospital
    • North Devon District Hospital
    • Royal Cornwall Hospital
    • Royal Devon and Exeter Hospital
    • Royal United Hospital
    • Torbay Hospital
    • Yeovil District Hospital

    Thames Valley

    • John Radcliffe Hospital
    • Milton Keynes Hospital
    • Royal Berkshire Hospital
    • Stoke Mandeville Hospital 
    • Wexham Park Hospital
    • Wycombe General Hospital 


    • Bronglais General Hospital
    • Glan Clwyd District General Hospital
    • Glangwili General Hospital
    • Morriston Hospital
    • Neath Port Talbot Hospital
    • Nevill Hall Hospital
    • Prince Charles Hospital
    • Princess of Wales Hospital, Bridgend
    • Royal Glamorgan Hospital
    • Royal Gwent Hospital
    • University Hospital of Wales
    • Withybush General Hospital
    • Wrexham Maelor Hospital
    • Ysbyty Gwynedd Hospital


    • Basingstoke and North Hampshire Hospital
    • Dorset County Hospital
    • Poole General Hospital
    • Queen Alexandra Hospital, Portsmouth
    • Royal Hampshire County Hospital
    • Salisbury District Hospital
    • Southampton Children’s Hospital
    • St Mary's Hospital, Isle of Wight
    • Worthing Hospital

    West Midlands

    • Alexandra Hospital
    • Birmingham Children's Hospital
    • Birmingham Heartlands Hospital
    • City Hospital, Birmingham
    • County Hospital Stafford
    • George Eliot Hospital
    • Good Hope Hospital, Sutton Coldfield
    • Hereford County Hospital
    • Kidderminster Hospital
    • Manor Hospital, Walsall
    • New Cross Hospital, Wolverhampton
    • Princess Royal Hospital
    • Queens Hospital, Burton on Trent
    • Royal Stoke University Hospital
    • Russells Hall Hospital
    • Sandwell General Hospital
    • University Hospital, Coventry
    • Warwick Hospital
    • Worcestershire Royal Hospital

    Yorkshire and Humber

    • Airedale General Hospital, Keighley
    • Barnsley Hospital
    • Bassetlaw District General Hospital
    • Dewsbury & District Hospital
    • Diana, Princess of Wales Hospital, Grimsby
    • Doncaster Royal Infirmary
    • Harrogate District Hospital
    • Huddersfield Royal Infirmary
    • Hull Royal Infirmary
    • Leeds Children’s Hospital
    • Pinderfields General Hospital and Pontefract General Infirmary
    • Rotherham Hospital
    • Scarborough General Hospital
    • Scunthorpe General Hospital
    • St Luke's Hospital
    • The York Hospital