Sub-specialty training

At Level 3 of training (ST6-8), paediatric trainees have the opportunity to specialise in a specific area of paediatrics or to continue in general training.

Those who complete an approved programme of sub-specialty training within the NTN grid will be eligible to enter on to the GMC Specialist Register with a CCT/CESR CP in paediatrics with sub-specialty recognition.


There are 17 accredited paediatric sub-specialties:

Paediatric Allergy, Immunology and Infectious Disease

Child Mental Health

Paediatric Clinical Pharmacology

Community Child Health

Paediatric Diabetes and Endocrinology

Paediatric Emergency Medicine

Paediatric Gastroenterology, Hepatology and Nutrition

Paediatric Inherited Metabolic Medicine

Paediatric Intensive Care Medicine

Neonatal Medicine

Paediatric Nephrology

Paediatric Neurodisability

Paediatric Neurology

Paediatric Oncology

Paediatric Palliative Medicine

Paediatric Respiratory Medicine

Paediatric Rheumatology

Special interests

Trainees working in General Paediatrics may develop a special interest in one sub-specialty by undertaking additional training and experience through a Special Interest (SPIN) module.

More about SPIN modules