RCPCH Progress curriculum

With a focus on learning outcomes - not tickboxes - our curriculum sets the standard for the skills, knowledge and behaviours that paediatricians need as they progress through training.
Curriculum icon
The curriculum has 11 domains, with learning outcomes for each training level. Syllabi provide further requirements and help you demonstrate achievement of the learning outcomes.
Information icon - for help
We explain how Progress works - and how to use it as you throughout your training. Videos introduce you to the curriculum, and demonstrate a supervisor-trainee scenario.
Dynamic child icon
For those in level 3 training, you will need the syllabus for your sub-specialty (also called 'grid' training) or general paediatrics. We manage 17 paediatric sub-specialties.

Progress | changes in level 3 training

The General Medical Council (GMC) approved a set of enhancements to our current level 3 training syllabi in general paediatrics and some sub-specialties. We've outlined the changes, with a few videos by your fellow trainees, which are live as of August/September this year.

Progress+ builds on Progress, first launched three years ago, and is is the College's response to Shape of training. It's now been approved by the General Medical Council for rollout from 2023.

Progress+ is outcomes-based, flexible and fit for the needs of children and young people. We understand trainees and supervisors will have questions, and have a growing range of resources to support you through the transition.

News and articles about training